School-Year Calendar

The calendar for the 2016-2017 school year at Blair is posted here for parents’ reference.

This is an abbreviated calendar with key dates that parents find most useful. For the full school-year calendar, which includes a comprehensive list of campus happenings (Society of Skeptics lectures, art exhibits, performing arts events, etc.), please click hereTo download the calendar below as a PDF, click here.

Fall Semester
Friday, August 19 Pre-season football registration (those invited by Coach Saylor) … 10 a.m.
Sunday, August 28 Prefects arrive & register … 1 p.m.
Monday, August 29 Registration for pre-season fall sports (those invited by coaches) … 9 a.m.
Friday, September 2 Registration for international students … 10 a.m.
Saturday, September 3 Registration for all remaining boarding & day students … 9 a.m.
Sunday, September 4 Full day orientation program for all students … 9 a.m.
Monday, September 5 Orientation program for all students continues … 8:30 a.m.
Monday, September 5 CONVOCATION … 7 p.m. (required for all students)
Tuesday, September 6 First semester begins.
Saturday, September 10 Community Weekend (boarders remain on campus)
Saturday, September 17th Community Weekend (boarders remain on campus)
Monday, September 26 No classes. Varsity athletes due back for afternoon practices. Boarding students return by 7 p.m.
Friday, October 21 &
Saturday, October 22
Parents’ Weekend
Monday, October 24 No classes. Varsity athletes due back for afternoon practices. Boarding students return by 7 p.m.
Saturday, November 5 PEDDIE DAY at Blair; weekend departures begin after the conclusion of athletic contests.
Saturday, November 19* Classes end by noon. Thanksgiving Vacation begin; dormitories close.
Monday, November 28* Boarding students return by 7 p.m.
Tuesday, November 29 Classes resume.
Friday, December 9 CHRISTMAS VESPERS (required for all students)
Wednesday, December 14* Classes end by noon; first semester ends. Holiday break begins; dormitories close. Grades and comments reported to parents after processing. No student may depart for vacation prior to December 14.
Winter/Spring Semester
Tuesday, January 3 Boarding students return by 7 p.m.*
Wednesday, January 4 Second semester begins.
Saturday, January 21 Mid-Winter Semi-Formal
Thursday, February 2* Winter Long Weekend begins after last class; dormitories close.
Tuesday, February 7* Boarding students return by 7 p.m.
Wednesday, February 8 Classes resume.
Thursday, March 9* Spring vacation begins; dormitories close. Grades reported to parents after processing.
Monday, March 27* Boarding students return by 7 p.m.
Tuesday, March 28 Classes resume.
Friday, April 14 Classes end at noon; students may depart for the weekend.
Monday, April 17 No classes. Varsity athletes due back for afternoon practices. Boarding students return by 7 p.m.
Monday, May 22 Senior Prize Assembly
Tuesday, May 23 Junior/Senior Prom
Wednesday, May 24 Packing Day for seniors; Class of 2017 Senior Assembly & BACCALAUREATE
Thursday, May 25 GRADUATION
Sunday, May 28 Underclass exams begin in the afternoon.
Tuesday, May 30 Underclass Prize Assembly
Thursday, June 1 Underclass exams end. Students may depart for summer vacations. Dormitories close for the summer. Grades reported to parents after processing.

Please review the calendar carefully and plan well in advance when making travel arrangements. Every academic day in our calendar is essential … absences due to travel arrangements should be avoided.

COMMUNITY WEEKENDS are designed to establish the sense of community at Blair that is central to the school's mission (or to build in structure for exam preparation). Various activities are planned for students' enjoyment. Parents may visit campus on those weekends but are asked not to take their sons/daughters off campus.

*A NOTE REGARDING TRAVEL PLANS … On the dates indicated with an asterisk, the school will arrange for charter bus or van transportation to/from New York City (Port Authority) and to/from airports. Whenever possible, use Newark Airport as it is much more convenient than the other New York area airports. Students flying out of Newark Airport should schedule departures for 3 p.m. or later. For any who must fly out of LaGuardia or JFK Airport, departures should be scheduled for 4 p.m. or later. Students leaving or returning on days other than designated travel days may have to arrange for private transportation.