All In The Campaign for Blair Academy 2018-2025
2023 Winter Sports Banquet Awardees
2023 state championship girls bball recap
1/20 Ski race recap 2023
NJISAA Indoor Track recap 2023
VFH vs. Hun recap 10/8/2022
2023 Blair Wrestling national champs recap
2023 Boys' Basketball team poses as MAPL champs.
Blair Celebrates Momentous Athletic Seasons
Blair Academy

As the new season’s sports begin training during spring break, Blair recognizes all the remarkable achievements our athletes have accomplished so far this year. Displaying excellence across many fields, Bucs posted winning seasons and broke school records. This winter included the 10th state championship and 12th consecutive MAPL championship for girls’ basketball, the second consecutive MAPL championship for boys’ basketball, and a national prep championship for the wrestling team—their 41st in program history. 

Additionally, individual state champions were crowned and a few were elevated to the national stage. Isaac Greene ’24 placed first in the 1600-meter race at the NJISAA Indoor Track Championship. Skier Morgan Celley ’25 won the overall NJISRA Race of Champions title, with first-place finishes in the Race of Champions slalom and giant slalom. Last—but certainly not least—even though their season ended in the fall, varsity field hockey players Ella Gaitan ’24 and Milaw Clause ’24 were recently selected for the USA U18 National Field Hockey team. Ella and Milaw led scoring for the Bucs last year and helped Blair secure the 2022 NJISAA Prep A State Championship. They will be competing internationally throughout the summer representing the United States. 

“All the student-athletes represented Blair with great sportsmanship and put forth the effort that aligns with Blair’s tradition of excellence,” said Paul Clavel ’88, Blair’s Director of Athletics. “There is no doubt that strong bonds were made within the teams as they faced many experiences that strengthened them through the season.”

On Wednesday, March 1, Blair honored the winter varsity teams for their impressive season at the annual varsity awards banquet. Congratulations to the 2022-2023 winter varsity prize winners! 

Brooks Prize Girls’ Basketball: Ella Sloan ’23
Leroy Haskins Prize (Boys’ Basketball): Carnegie Johnson ’23
Leroy Haskins Prize (Boys’ Basketball): Jayden Lemond ’23
Leroy Haskins Prize (Boys’ Basketball): Ian Imegwu ’23
The Captain’s Trophy (Swimming): Piper Summers ’24
The Captain’s Trophy (Swimming): Jason Zhao ’24
Blair Squash Prize: Mallory Allen ’23
Blair Squash Prize: Marc Lui ’23
Winter Track Award: Petra Taylor ’24
Winter Track Award: Isaac Greene ’24
Merit Ski Award: Patrick Payne ’23
Merit Ski Award: Paige Celley ’25
Lieberman Wrestling Prize: Josh Anthony ’24
James C. Jamieson Award (Wrestling): Liam Kilrain ’23

News Headlines