All In The Campaign for Blair Academy 2018-2025
Blair Crew SRAA national champs 2023
2023 spring athletic award winners
Buccaneers Celebrate Historic Spring Athletic Season
Blair Academy

As Blair’s student-scholars wrapped up a spirited season of senior orations, academic awards and the conferral of degrees last week, Blair’s student-athletes concluded the season with notable accomplishments as well. 

At the annual spring athletic awards assembly on May 21 in Walker Gymnasium, many teams celebrated impressive achievements, including an MAPL and NJ prep state championship for the girls’ golf team, who ended their season undefeated for the second year in a row. The boys’ golf team clinched the NJ prep state championship as well while several of Blair’s track and field stars broke records, even bringing home the state title for the fastest boys’ 1600-meter run. 

As the regular season concluded on the hilltop, Blair rowing history was made when both girls and boys crews competed for the first time in Oak Ridge, Tennessee, at the Scholastic Rowing Association of America (SRAA) National Championship Regatta. The senior girls four crew team clinched another national championship, finishing nearly nine seconds in front of the second-place crew. The ladies’ win marks the second consecutive year they have been crowned SRAA champions. 

“All of the student-athletes carried themselves with great sportsmanship and integrity throughout the season,” noted Director of Athletics Paul Clavel ’88, at the ceremony. “They represented Blair well on and off the field and made lasting memories in the process.”

Congratulations to all of our athletes and the award winners for the 2023 spring season:

Blair Lacrosse Prize: Michael Diaco ’23, Michael Mangino ’23 & Hannah Reed ’23

Brooks Baseball Prize: Carson Bowman ’25 & Achylles Pons-Beltsyk ’24

Hurley Crew Prize: Emery Castimore ’23

Kemp Crew Prize: Aleksa Bazylevsky ’24

Blair Girls’ Golf Award: Katie Usher ’23

Zimmerman Golf Trophy: Isaiah Marseille ’23

Stowell Softball Award: Mallory Allen ’23 & Jocelyn O’Keeffe ’24

Pender Track Award: Patrick Payne ’23 & Petra Taylor ’24

Paul Tennis Award: Zac Baker ’23

Anzel Tennis Trophy: Andy Lee ’26

News Headlines