All In The Campaign for Blair Academy 2018-2025
CLass of 2024 Baccalaureate march
Senior Prize Assembly Celebrates Accomplishments of the Class of 2024
Ashley Taube

Following a night of dancing at prom and on the brink of Blair’s commencement ceremony, the Class of 2024 assembled in the DuBois Theatre for a poignant gathering. This marked one of their last collective moments to honor the remarkable accomplishments of their peers at the Senior Prize Assembly. Surrounded by classmates, faculty and family, outstanding students were recognized for their unwavering dedication, hard work and contributions to the Blair community.

“It’s not merely the product generated, but the characteristics of the person themselves in pursuing their goals that we celebrate as a School,” Assistant Head of School for Academics Nathan Molteni said, addressing the class. “You all share a piece of these accomplishments as classmates, teammates, friends and supporters. So when we call a few names tonight, we hope you’ll feel a collective pride for the exceptional efforts of your class.” 

The evening began with the presentation of awards for academic excellence, with department chairs expressing pride in acknowledging their outstanding students. English teacher Kaye Evans revealed the seniors who had attained membership in Blair’s Cum Laude Society, while Paul Clavel ’88, Director of Athletics, commended the Buccaneers for their remarkable achievements as part of Blair’s athletic teams. Following these recognitions, the Class of 2024 presented Mr. Curran with their gift, a collective $1,639 for the class scholarship and Blair Fund, marking the conclusion of the awards ceremony with prizes honoring overall student development across all facets of campus life.

In addition to the senior awards, The James M. Howard Jr. Fellowship Prize, which honors a faculty member early in his or her career who has especially impacted the Blair community over the course of the school year, was presented to admission associate Chase Palanca ’15 by Dean of Faculty Life Leucretia Shaw. In a presentation earlier in the week, Mrs. Shaw was honored with this year’s ACTA yearbook dedication, selected by the senior class.

“It has been a privilege to watch you mature, grow and take advantage of all that Blair has to offer,” Head of School Peter G. Curran P’27 ’27 shared on behalf of faculty and staff. “As you officially join our alumni ranks tomorrow, please know how proud we are of all of you and how special it is for me to hand you your diploma—an appropriate bookend to my sending many of you your acceptances all those years ago.”

Congratulations to all those recognized at the 2024 Senior Prize Assembly:
THE DURLAND PRIZE FOR EXCELLENCE IN COMPUTER SCIENCE, awarded to the student who has demonstrated extraordinary ability and interest in computer programming or computer applications while at Blair: Daniel Zhang

THE DUMONT ENGLISH PRIZE, awarded to the member/s of the senior class who ranked highest in English and presented in memory of the late Senator Wayne Dumont and his father, Wayne Dumont Sr., by Mrs. Helen Dumont: Charlotte Devereux & Charlene Jiao

THE ROBERT F. HARRIS MEMORIAL TROPHY, awarded to members of the senior class for special interest and outstanding achievement in the study of English literature: Ruby DeFrank & Cooper Winegar

THE EDYTH JEFFREY SHAKESPEARE ESSAY PRIZE, awarded to a Blair Academy student to recognize excellence in the study of William Shakespeare: Natalie Chamberlain & Daniel Zhang 

ART DEPARTMENT PRIZES, recognizing outstanding work in these areas:


PHOTOGRAPHY: Maddie Tuffnell & Tania Lau

THE PAUL R. WHITE HISTORY PRIZE, awarded to the students considered to be the most proficient in history in the senior class: Kseniia Burdiuzha, Richard Li & Kady Seck

THE MARGUERITE DEYSSON HABERMANN MEMORIAL FRENCH PRIZE, awarded to a senior who has done exceptionally well in French: Charlene Jiao

THE CHARLES H. BREED LATEIN PRIZE, awarded to a senior who excelled in Latin: Clara Yan


THE WINSON D. EWING PRIZE, awarded to the senior considered to be the most outstanding mathematics student in their class: Charlene Jiao

KATHERINE JOHNSON PRIZE, awarded to the senior considered to be the most curious and creative mathematician in the class: Leo Munasinghe

THE DALE ROSENSON DRAMATICS PRIZE, awarded to the senior who demonstrated excellence in lighting, sound, special effects and set management for theatrical productions at Blair: Julia Starikoff

THE HARDING MEMORIAL PRIZE, awarded to the students who contributed most to musical organizations: Emma Clavel & Abdoulaye Sylla

THE JOSEPH F. EBERLE MEMORIAL PRIZE, awarded to the students who exhibit outstanding achievement in music: Arthur Lee & Amy Kim

THE ROBERT F. HARRIS DRAMATICS AWARD, presented to the members of the student body who have shown the highest standard of excellence in dramatics: Grant Breckenridge, Julian Perello & Julia Twomey

THE SCIENCE ACHIEVEMENT AWARD, presented to that student who exhibits an overwhelming passion and commitment toward science and who has written a superior academic record in multiple AP science courses: Kseniia Burdiuzha, Apple Wu & Jazon Zhao

THE DONALD E. LAWSHE PRIZE, presented in memory of former Blair physics teacher Donald E. Lawshe to students who have consistently demonstrated a passion for science and a dedication to interests beyond the classroom: Emma Sng & Jack Gerdsen

Ethan Anthony
Natalie Chamberlain
Ruby DeFrank
Peyton Franz
Aria Goswami
Angela Han
Arthur Huang
Leo Li
Machua Muchugia
Leo Munasinghe
Zeynep Ozel
Joon Park
Jass Sanchez
Kendall Waag
Apple Wu

Avery Andrasek
Ethan Anthony
Emma Clavel
Chris Couri
Morgan Edwards
Morgan Frame
Peyton Franz
Yaneik Gallego
Owen Granahan
Brynne Grant
Isaac Greene
Luis Jimenez
Grant Krueger
Jocelyn O’Keeffe
Simisola Onakomaiya
Mackenzie Schreiber
Piper Summers
Petra Taylor
Cooper Winegar
Allie Wolff



HERBERT J. SIEGEL ’46 PRIZE: Jayden Williams & Morgan Edwards

LEE ROSE MEMORIAL TROPHY: Emma Clavel & Allie Wolff

FRANKLIN PRIZE: Yaneik Gallego


SELENA & JAMES HOWARD PRIZE: Clara Yan & Ethan Anthony


News Headlines